.

A song by Gulzar is generally set for an award from the time it reaches his pen. While the world was charmed by Academy Award winning song Jai Ho, Bollywood fans accustomed to Gulzar’s genius and A R Rahman’s music were not exactly surprised. Combination of energetic beats and lovely metaphors, this song is a delight every time one hears it. Here is my take on the meaning of Jai Ho lyrics in English, minus the Spanish stanzas written and sung by the very talented Tanvi Shah, as I can’t translate those, as much as I wish I could. I would appreciate if anyone with the knowledge of Spanish and English  helps me with the same. Jai ho!

Song Credits
Singers: Sukhvinder Singh, Mahalaxmi Iyer, Vijay Prakash, and Tanvi Shah
Music: A. R. Rahman
Lyrics: Gulzar, Tanvi Shah

Movie Credits
Directed by: Danny Boyle
Starring: Dev Patel, Freida Pinto, Madhur Mittal, Anil Kapoor, and Irrfan Khan
Produced by: Christian Colson
Release: 9 January 2009

Original Lyrics-Jai Ho

Jai Ho Jai Ho Jai Ho  Jai Ho
Aaja Aaja Jind-e-Shamiyane Ke Tale
Aaja zariwale Nile Aasman Ke Tale
Jai Ho Jai Ho

Ratti Ratti Sachi Maine Jaan Gavayi Hai
Nach Nach Koylo Pe Raat Bitayi Hai
Akhiyon Ki Neend Maine Phoonko Se Uda Di
Gin gin tare Maine Ungli Jalayi Hai
Aaja Aaja Jind-e-Shamiyane Ke Tale
Aaja zariwale Nile Aasman Ke Tale
Jai Ho Jai Ho
Jai Ho Jai Ho

Chakh Le Ho Chakh Le Ye Raat Shahad Hai Chakh Le
Rakh Le Haan Dil Hai Dil Aakhri Hadd Hai Rakh Le
Kala Kala Kajal Tera Koi Kala Jadoo Hai Na
Kala Kala Kajal Tera Koi Kala Jadoo Hai Na
Aaja Aaja Jind-e-Shamiyane Ke Tale
Aaja zariwale Nile Aasman Ke Tale,
Jai Ho Jai Ho

Kab Se Ha Kab Se Tu Lab Pe Ruki Hai Keh De
Keh De Ha Keh De Ab Aankh Jhuki Hai.. Keh De
Aisi Aisi Roshan Aankhe Roshan Dono heere Hai Hai Kya
Aaja Aaja Jind-e-Shamiyane Ke Tale
Aaja zariwale Nile Aasman Ke Tale
Jai Ho Jai Ho
Jai Ho Jai Ho

 

Translation of Jai Ho by bollywoodtarjuma

Hail! Salute!
Hail! Salute!

Come on under the silken
cover of my being,
come rest under the blue of
the gold embroidered sky.

I wait for you and
lose my life bit by bit,
dancing on smoldering embers
in the pitch dark of the night.
I push sleep out of my eyes,
blow by blow,
while burning my fingers counting,
endless scorching stars that glow.

Come on under the silken
cover of my being,
come rest under the blue of
the gold embroidered sky.

Come and taste the honey-sweet night,
keep it in your heart,
as the last frontier of this fight.
The dark of your kohl-rimmed eyes,
grips me like black magic on the rise.
Come on under the silken
 cover of my being,
come rest under the blue of
the gold embroidered sky.

Please say something now,
for you have stayed
on my lips for long.
I won’t even look in your
twinkling diamond eyes.
Please don’t be shy
and let your words rise.

Come on under the silken
cover of my being,
come rest under the blue of
the gold embroidered sky.

Hail! Salute!
Hail! Salute!

