This soothing number of profound missing is not from Bollywood. It’s an independent album that was a collaboration between the Ghazal king, Jagjit Singh and my very favorite poet, Gulzar saab. It’s a request by Shristi and I am more than happy to try. I love the economy of word and phrase in the song and the completely natural rhythm coming though beautifully. Please leave a comment if you have non-Bollywood requests, I will give my best!

Song Credits

Singer: Jagjit Singh
Album: Marasim
Lyrics: Gulzar

Original Lyrics-Sham Se Aankh Mein

Shaam se aankh mein nami si hai (2)
Aaj phir aap ki kami si hai

Dafn kardo hume ke saans bhi le (2)
nabz kuch der se thami si hai (2)
Aaj phir aap ki kami si hai

Waqt rehta nahin kahin tik kar (2)
Iss ki aadat bhi aadmi si hai (2)
Aaj phir aap ki kami si hai

Koi rishta nahin raha phir bhi (2)
Ek tasleem lazmi si hai (2)
Aaj phir aap ki kami si hai…

Translation of Sham Se Aankh Mein by bollywoodtarjuma

Once again,
my eyes moisten
as the twilight arrives,
along with your absence.

Once again,
my pulse slows down,
wishing to be burried alive,
to feel my breath,
to feel alive

Once again,
Time reminds me,
that it won’t stay forever,
just like human relationships.

Once again,
I wish you had said goodbye*
even though what we had
was long dead.

 

*A goodbye/farewell is my interpretation of the word ‘tasleem’, though it can mean salutation too. An alternate translation would be:

Once again,
I offer you my salutation,
even though what we had
is long dead.

 

