Abhi mujh mein kahi, a multiple award winning song rendered in the soulful voice of Sonu Nigam is truly a triumph of words, notes and singing. As one swings between hope and pain, this song represents a perfect roller coaster ride of Bollywood music. Agneepath is one of my favorite films too. According to me, it features the career-best performance by Indian superstar Hrithik Roshan. Some day, I hope to translate Harivansh Rai Bachchan’s legendary poem, ‘Agneepath’ that is metaphorically connected to film.

Song Credits
Singer: Sonu Nigam
Music: Ajay Atul
Lyrics: Amitabh Bhattacharya

Movie Credits
Starring: Hrithik Roshan, Rishi Kapoor, Sanjay Dutt, Priyanka Chopra
Directed by: Karan Malhotra
Produced by: Karan Johar, Hiroo Yash Johar
Release Date: 26 January 2012

Original Lyrics-Abhi Mujh Mein Kahi

Abhi mujh mein kahin
Baaqi thodi si hai zindagi
Jagi dhadkan nayi
Jaana zinda hoon main toh abhi
Kuch aisi lagan iss lamhe mein hai
Ye lamha kahaan tha mera
Ab hai saamne
Issey chhoo loon zaraa
Mar jaaoon ya jee loon zaraa
Khushiyaan choom loon
Yaa ro loo’n zaraa
Mar jaaun ya jee loon zaraa

Ho.. dhoop mein jalte huey tann ko
Chhaya ped ki mil gayee
Roothe bachche ki hansi jaise
Phuslaane se phir khill gayee
Kuchh aisa hi abb mehsoos dil ko ho rahaa hai
Barso’n ke purane zakhm pe marham laga sa hai
Kuch aisa rahem, iss lamhe mein hai
Ye lamha kahaan tha mera
Ab hai saamne
Issey chhoo loon zara
Mar jaaoon ya jee loon zara

Dor se tooti patang jaisi, thi ye zindagani meri
Aaj ho kal ho mera naa ho
Har din thi kahani meri
Ik bandhan naya peechhe se abb mujhko bulaaye
Aane waley kal ki kyun fikar mujhko sata jaaye
Ik aisi chubhan iss lamhe me hai
Ye lamha kahaan tha mera aa
Ab hai saamne
Issey chhoo loon zara
Mar jaaoo’n ya jee loon zara

Translation of Abhi Mujh Mein Kahi by bollywoodtarjuma

A bit of life
is still left in me,
I realize a new heartbeat,
in this moment, in this breath.
I witness it,
and wish to touch it,
kiss the happiness living in it,
and cry the tears it sheds,
and ask it,
‘where were you lost till now’?

When my sun- scorched body,
was finally soothed by some shade,
it lit up like the smile
of a sulking child,
cajoled with a treat.
The respite of that moment,
a balm on my eternal wounds.
The empathy of this moment, of this breath,
makes me ask it,
‘where were you lost till now’?

Just like a string- less kite,
my life floated away,
unware of a tomorrow,
that may never even come.
As I worry about future,
a fresh promise calls out to me,
piercing my unmoving thoughts
in this moment, this breath,
and I wish to ask it,
‘where were you lost till now’?

