Kaminey/Rascals, a film about a pair of identical twins stuck in murky waters, is a part of a long tradition of ‘double’ films from Indian cinema. Apart from being a fairly compelling film, the jodi (pair) of Vishal Bhardwaj and Gulzar created some memorable songs. The title song is a brooding and existential ode to the tribulations of an human in this individualistic world. Hope you like my take on the beautiful words by Gulzar, rendered in the earthy voice of Vishal Bhardwaj himself.

Song Credits
Singer: Vishal Bhardwaj
Music: Vishal Bhardwaj
Lyrics: Gulzar

Movie Credits
Starring: Shahid Kapoor, Priyanka Chopra and Amol Gupte
Directed by: Vishal Bhardwaj
Produced by: Ronnie Screwvala
Release Date: 14 August 2009

Original Lyrics-Kaminey

Kya Kare Zindagi Isako Hum Jo Mile
Isaki Jaan Kha Gaye Raat Din Ke Gile]- (2)
Raat Din Gile Meri Aarzu Kamini
Mere Khwaab Bhi Kaminey
Ek Dil Se Dosti Thi Ki Huzur Bhi Kaminey
Kya Kare Zindagi Isako Hum Jo Mile
Isaki Jaan Kha Gaye Raat Din Ke Gile

[Kabhi Zindagi Se Maanga Pinjare Mein Chaand La Do
Kabhi Laalten Deke Kahaan Aasmaan Pe Taango-2
Jine Ke Sab Karine Hai Hamesha Se Kaminey
Kaminey, Kaminey, Kaminey, Kaminey
Meri Daastaan Kamini, Mere Raaste Kaminey
Ek Dil Se Dosti Thi Yeh Huzur Bhi Kaminey

Jiska Bhi Chehara Chhila Andar Se Aur Nikla
Masoom Sa Kabutar Nachaa to  Mor Nikla
Kabhi Hum Kaminey Nikale Kabhi Dusare Kaminey
Kaminey, Kaminey, Kaminey, Kaminey
Meri Dosti Kamini, Mere Yaar Bhi Kaminey
Ek Dil Se Dosti Thi Yeh Huzur Bhi Kaminey

Translation of Kaminey by bollywoodtarjuma

What to do with you,
My dear life?
Consumed by the fears of sun and shade
My wishes, my dreams, my flights of fancy
All of them
mean and lousy..

And when I made friends with my heart,
it betrayed me,
all the same.
What to do with you,
My dear life?

At times I wished to cage the moon,
at other times,
I fought the pitch dark night
fanning dying embers of light
All of my fabled journeys,
are selfish narratives,
the endless tales of lived letdowns

And when I made friends with my heart,
it betrayed me,
all the same.
What to do with you,
My dear life?

I tried living another’s life,
Snatched a face, the skin
and then some more.
But failed to be anyone
but me
Like the modest pigeon who grew feathers,
To be the dancing-deceiving peacock
It always was.
I was wicked sometimes,
at times it were the others

My friendships, my beloveds,
My cherished, my adored
My wishes, my dreams, my flights of fancy
All of them
mean and lousy..

And when I made friends with my heart,
it betrayed me,
all the same.
What to do with you,
My dear life?

 

